The first deity of the Hindu trinity, Lord Brahma, is that the god of creation. The trinity being, Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva. Brahma contains the whole cosmos and every one of its creatures.

Brahma-Hindu god – Hinduism says that point is cyclical. this is often because all creation within the Universe exists a few times then dies. In short, Brahma reminds us of the cycle of birth and death.

The cycle of creation and death is constant and ceaseless. We are born from Brahma then return to Brahma.

One of the prayers to mention before your meal is:

“This food came from Brahma.I am about to eat Brahma.I will return to Brahma”

Indeed, these prayers help to remind us of the impermanence of life. As the god of Creation, Brahma also symbolizes the mind and intellect. This is often because he’s the source of all knowledge necessary for the Universe.

You’ll find Brahma depicted with four faces. The four faces symbolize the completeness of his knowledge. Brahma also has four hands that every represent a facet of the human personality. this often minds, intellect, ego, and consciousness.

Brahma is the god of:

  • Creation
  • Intellect
  • Mind

Although Brahma Mudra may be a sitting posture that’s practiced before pranayama. So it also helps improve focus and releases negative energies. In yoga, Mudras (hand and body gestures) affect the flow of vital force energy (prana) throughout the body. they assist calm the mind and energize the body.

Brahma mudraBrahma is that the name of the Hindu creator god. the interpretation in Sanskrit is “divine,” “sacred,” or “Supreme Spirit”. Place both hands into fists with the fingers wrapped around the thumbs. The palms face skyward, and both hands pressed together at the knuckles. The hands then rest against the pubis.


The second deity of the Hindu trinity, Vishnu is that the Preserver (of life). He sustains life through his adherence to principle, order, righteousness, and truth. Vishnu’s responsibility is order and balance. He encourages his devotees to point out kindness and compassion to all or any creatures.

Vishnu is depicted with four arms, which represent his omnipotence and omnipresence.

This Hindu deity may be a more esoteric god as compared to those that rule over the wildlife since. he’s liable for the divine essence that pervades the Universe.

It is common to ascertain Vishnu seated upon a coiled snake. This symbolizes the power to stay asleep within the face of fear or worry.

Vishnu is that the god of:

  • Support
  • Order
  • Balance

Vrikshasana (tree pose) requires a pointy mental focus. This focus directs and concentrates the mind. And who doesn’t need a mind that has the facility of concentration?

Balancing on one foot requires keeping your eyes on one specific spot.

Vrikshasana || Tree Pose

Balancing yoga postures assists you to direct your energy inward. Keep your eyes focused on a focus – your Drishti. Your Drishti enables you to specialize in staying even keel. Vishnu can maintain peacefulness and steadfastness within the face of fear. When practicing Vrikshasana, you build self-trust by overcoming the fear of falling. Rather than that specialize in tipping over, this posture requires you to only specialize in maintaining balance.


The final deity of the Hindu trinity is Shiva, also referred to as The Destroyer – the destroyer of all our “bad” habits. As you travel throughout India, you’ll see many lingams that represent Shiva. Shiva protects his followers from greed, lust, and anger. He guards them against illusion and ignorance. These are the forces that substitute the way of divine enlightenment.

He is also considered to be liable for death, destroying to bring rebirth and new life. Hindus often call upon Shiva before a ritual with this mantra.

“Om Namah Shivaya”

So this invocation destroys bad energy in physical and energetic space. Shiva is usually depicted with a serpent around his neck, which represents Kundalini, or life energy.

Shiva is that the god of:

  • Destruction
  • Renewal
  • Death

Natarajasana may be a pose representing the deity in one of his most beloved forms. The word Natarajasana comes from two words: nata, meaning acrobat, and raja, meaning king.

Shiva, depicted as Nataraj, is usually shown dancing to represent this meaning.

Natarajasana || Dancer pose

This dance is ever fluctuating and changing. This expression symbolizes the dynamic cultural expression of life. As in life, the external posture could also be filled with movement and far wobbling once we practice, it requires a still, calm mind to remain balanced. Evoke the cyclical nature of Shiva by adding Natarajasana into your practice.


Recognized for his elephant head, Ganesh of the foremost prevalent and best-known deities. (Also referred to as Ganesha.) Ganesh is Shiva’s firstborn son. His large, elephantine head symbolizes the wisdom and knowledge that he bestows upon his seekers. He grants luck to those that offer him, delicious sweets. He is the ruler of astrology, mantra (sound), and yoga and is related to the humanities and sciences.

It is especially common to wish to Ganesha before any significant venture like a marriage or a replacement project because he removes obstacles to success and luck.

Some myths and stories explain how Ganesha came to possess an elephant head. Still, it’s thought that the humorous image stills the rational mind and its doubts. Therefore, in meditation, we practice looking beyond outer appearances and forms.

Ganesh is that the god of:

  • Removing obstacles
  • Wisdom
  • Good Fortune

Warrior two on the mountain there are a couple of yoga poses that embody Ganesha’s resilient strength and fearlessness. one among these postures is Virabhadrasana or Warrior II.

A yoga posture like Warrior II emphasizes a connection to the basis chakra.

The expansive, stable qualities of Warrior 2 make it the right posture to represent Ganesha’s immense strength. Before embarking on your day or an adventure, you’ll want to practice this pose inspired by one of the foremost well-known Hindu gods.


Another easily distinguishable Hindu god is Hanuman, the deity depicted as a monkey. Hanuman represents the perfect devotee of the gods. Meditate on Hanuman as a logo of strength, perseverance, and devotion. To embody Hanuman is to embody absolute love and dedication. Yoga is usually considered the practice of having the ability to regulate one’s mind. Since the five senses are the gateway to the mind, Hanuman is that the god of sensory control.

His attributes are often related to extraordinary strength, as long as he believes within the cause!

Hanuman is usually called upon in times of trouble. He teaches us about the unlimited power that lies within the human heart. When we direct our energies to god, as shown within the epic tale Ramayana, anything is feasible.

Hanuman is that the god of:

  • Perseverance
  • Dedication
  • Commitment

Known as ‘the splits’ Hanumanasana is one posture that needs tons of dedication and therefore the patience of a saint to master.

The monkey god Hanuman represents devotion, selfless service, dedication, and indomitable willpower. The physical posture, Hanumanasana, represents his ability to leap great distances. During the battle between Rama and Ravana within the Ramayana, Hanuman jumped from India to Lanka to comfort Sita.

In the story, he brought Sita a hoop from Rama to remind her of the love that they had for her. Hanuman was so loyal towards Rama, that when offered a gift for his bravery and dedication to Rama and Sita. He asked only to be ready to still serve them. As you practice Hanumanasana, visualize yourself, closing the space between yourself and your goals.